The Association of Missouri Geologists is a non-profit organization established to promote the study of Missouri geology in all its aspects and to promote the education, welfare, and professional status of all geologists resident in Missouri.

O.R. Grawe Award

The O.R. Grawe Award, named in honor of Oliver Rudolph Grawe, first President of the Association of Missouri Geologists, is presented annually to the outstanding Junior or Senior undergraduate Geology major in Missouri.  The award consists of an engraved Brunton pocket transit and case, a plaque and certificate of recognition from the Association, and a cash stipend of $300.   The winning applicant is selected on the basis of a letter of nomination from the applicant's department chairperson, a written statement by the applicant describing reasons for having chosen the field of earth science and describing post-graduate plans, a current copy of the applicant's academic transcript, and letters of recommendation from two members of the department faculty. 

Application deadline for 2016 is August 15th.

Please send application packet to:

Missouri Geological Survey
attn: Molly Starkey
PO Box 250
Rolla, MO 65401

The application may also be submitted electronically to or faxed to 573-368-2111.

O.R. Grawe Award Recipients: